top of page
  • rtompkins7

Closing out my time in the ADL

As I come to the end of the ADL program I am considering what I’ve accomplished so far. I have created an innovation plan and an organizational change strategy based on what I’ve learned through my self-directed research (Lit review link). In my research, I found that learning theory backed up my recommendations to flip my classroom with interactive lessons that allow students to play with the concepts.


By designing a course with the end in mind, I created an online, 5-week course I would use to bridge the gap between Algebra 2 and Precalculus and implemented some of those changes into my course design in the school where I teach.


As part of my organizational change strategy, I developed a Wildly Important Goal (McChesney, Covey, and Huling, 2016) and a measurement strategy to monitor progress toward achieving the goal. I also found that having a site devoted to housing all of my personal learning networks has been a huge help. Prior to having a list with hyperlinks, I had to remember which groups would be the best to ask certain questions and remember how to get there. Now, I can simply go to my site and find the best resource to pose questions and share tips.


My ePortfolio has been an invaluable resource to store my learning so that I can review what I’ve learned, and share my learning with others. I’ve used my student product page with my students and colleagues so much, I’m surprised I never put one together before. Also, I learned this year while investigating becoming National Board Certified (NBC) (Certification, n.d.), If you find that becoming NBC is right for you, having an ePortfolio with your student products will be an incredibly helpful resource!


Earning my M. Ed. in Applied Digital Learning will position me to structure courses for my students based on the principles of COVA + CSLE (Harapnuik, 2017), and open my future to the possibility of corporate instructional design.

References:

Certification. (n.d.). NBPTS. Retrieved December 4, 2021, from https://www.nbpts.org/certification/


Harapnuik, D. (2017) CSLE+COVA. Retrieved from http://www.harapnuik.org/?page_id=6988


McChesney, C., Covey, S., & Huling, J. (2016). The 4 disciplines of execution: Achieving your wildly important goals. New York: Free Press, an imprint of Simon & Schuster.

7 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page