top of page
  • rtompkins7

Course Design

My course is designed as a hypothetical since it’s created to be asynchronous and my district doesn’t support an asynchronous learning option. Since I’ve designed it as a hypothetical solution for an asynchronous summer course for my district, I’m keeping in mind the other parameters my district has for online learning. I plan to communicate with my students through the Google Classroom interface. Our students have email addresses, but their accounts are not set up to receive email. Because of that, all of our communication has to be through our LMS. We use Schoology in our district now, but we were a google classroom district and I learned at the end of the 2019-20 school year that Google Classroom can be used to have conversations with asynchronous learners pretty well as long as they know to check their account at least once a day, since they won’t have an email notification.


I’ve also designed this course so that all items are available at the same time. Nothing will be timed to deliver at a later date, so there is no mystery about what’s coming next. Because of this, students can move at their own pace.


I will update my course as necessary and send out announcements on the “stream” tab that students will see first when they log in. This goes back to class communication. The expectation of checking in at least once a day to check course communications will need to be built into the expected behavior for the class.


In creating a new course, I would set it up using Schoology since that’s what our students use in our district. Schoology also has a more robust interface so that you can have rich graphics that appear as a website for students making it easier to navigate if it’s designed well.


0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page