top of page
  • rtompkins7

The Importance of a Personal Learning Network

Updated: Dec 14, 2020

 

“A Personal Learning Network is a way of describing the group of people that you connect with to learn their ideas, their questions, their reflections, and their references. Your PLN is not limited to online interactions, but it is that online, global interactive part that really makes it special. It is personal because you choose who’s part of that group; you choose if you want to lurk–just check out what people are saying–or if you share; because you choose when to do so, and how to do so.”

-Marc-André Lalande

 

Personal and professional learning networks are a great way to educate yourself and stay connected to others in your career and personal hobbies. They're available everywhere, online and offline. The online networks are really important because the connections made there aren't necessarily the people you talk to everyday. They can offer fresh perspectives and ideas that people close to you might not be able to offer. I've found them valuable as a window to the world; to see how others in my profession handle issues in teaching.


I never realized I had formed a personal learning network, but I suppose I've been culminating one since before I even started teaching. Sifting through all the groups I turn to for information and commiseration, I discovered I had several I'm still active with, and some that I've drifted away from. I've created a page on my site detailing the groups in which I plan to be active for now with a brief explanation of why I find them helpful or important. 


There are other groups that  I've been a member of but didn't include because I haven't used them in a while. There are so many networks available to learn about anything you want to learn about, especially about teaching! Teachers love to share and love to learn.


This is a link to my Learning Networks page.


References:


Lalande, M. (Director). (2012). What is a PLN - Marc-André Lalande's take [Video file]. Retrieved October 31, 2020, from https://youtu.be/hLLpWqp-owo


What Is A Personal Learning Network? (2018, September 30). Retrieved October 31, 2020, from https://www.teachthought.com/pedagogy/what-is-a-personal-learning-network/


5 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page